Or it might be surprisingly bad for you, if after you play it was not what you expected. 😅
To get the bad parts out of the way, the additional LI in the roster is JacK who is voice by Furukawa Makoto. Which I always enjoy Furukawa’s performances when he voice Characters. As much as JacK’s route wasn’t a bad route, but you get the feeling it was an after thought with the Team working on Tengoku Struggles. It just didn’t mesh well with all the rest of the LIs and it just felt random. Despite that I love Random curve ball moments, but this one felt kinda force. I know Tengoku Struggles is not my Baby that I work hard to make it be love by the massive. But writing wise, JacK could have been blended in more better to make him seem like he truly belong into the roster.
Now on to the good! ❤️🔥
There were a lot of moments in the game where I really want to eat and try cooking the food that is in the game. Like the Japanese Style sandwiches (サンド) as well as Dango. 🍡
When ever I get the Money to travel to Japan, I can’t wait to try Mitarashi Dango, it just look so good. I can only just image how good biting into while also tasting that Sweet Soy Sauce.
While playing Yona’s route I want to try Hassaku Oranges, where I’m from in America we have different type of Oranges like Sumo Oranges, Navel Oranges, and Mandarin Oranges but haven’t seen Hassaku Oranges. Maybe I might find it in a different Asian Market or H-Mart but is probity best I fly to Japan to try it. Just like if you want to try Blue Moon or Superman Ice cream your probity better off buying a Plane Ticket to go to any of the Mid-West States like Michigan, Ohio, and Wisconsin to try it then you would else where. Maybe not, but if you dream about want to try Blue Moon or Superman Ice cream I hope you get the chance Reader.
Threw out all the routes, they have a lot of really good life lessons that my Teenager and Adult self needed or need to be reminded of if I already knew it. And relatable moments and situations you can resonate with the MC, LIs and Side characters. I don’t talk about the Side Characters that much but I have a soft spot for Sansaburo and Okuni, they’re such a power couple.
🩷
Route Tier
My reactions are going to be up to date. Since I played it two years ago.
S
It surprised me that Yona’s Route bump Sharaku’s Route down from number 1 for me. Because I thought I would still love Sharaku’s Route after playing it, but I love Yona more. And I love him as an LI, I have to admit that I feel bad that I compare him to Kyo from Fruits Basket during half of my play thru tread. Which he’s not identical to Kyo, and thinking back from how Yona was from the beginning or his Route to the end adds up.
My Teenager self would feel connected from the advise Yona and Sansaburo deal with and that is to live for yourself and to not hide the pain your going through.
I always have to remind myself that, since in my Teen years I didn’t know who I can go to rant about my problems or Hardships, so I kept a lot of things to myself. Especially when you explain to the person about your struggles they ether could care less or won’t understand what your going through.
And trying to live for others and not for yourself can be not only stressful but can even be depressing, because you live for that person that you end up losing yourself and never ask yourself what makes YOU happy or trying to find a balance.
A lot of things that Yona is into I love as well, love Spicy food and snacks, reading Books, and the Ocean.
I want to try Hassaku Orange Sandwich someday as well as Hassaku Orange. I know they have a Sour taste, but with Yona mentioning about it a lot makes me want to try it.
The after story was really sweet too. Especially when Rin made Yona, Hassaku Orange Jelly. If I find any Hassaku Orange flavor anything I’m going to buy it out of curiosity.
This CG gave me the Awws badly
Sharaku
Out of all the LIs Sharaku is my favorite, I fan-girl a lot in his Route because his CGs are Spicy. Sharaku’s CGs before I play Yona, JacK and Geomon’s route, Sharaku’s route were SS tier to me except for one CG in his Bad end.
But playing 98 if not 99% of his Route, in the Common route he dislike Rin as the next LI(Well except for Geomon) but Sharaku was thirty for Rin. I lost count of how many times he ask Rin if she can sleep with him. Even stepping boundaries when they done the Photo Booth together. But Sharaku really wanted to get into Rin’s pants(or for this case her Skirt, yes I know is still the same thing. 😅🤪).
Sharaku’s CG from his bad, if it wasn’t for the Apothecary Diaries I wouldn’t understand the significance of a person wanting to “🔪” a piece of their finger.
Because culturally which I though it was just a part of Chinese culture but is an Asian culture thing from back in the day, that if you make a Pinky promise to a person and if they break that promise the person will “🔪” their Pinkie or finger of choice. And send it to the person that broke their promise.
Since in the Bad CG Rin and Sharaku broke their Promise Sharaku wanted her Pinkie to remember her by as soon as Rin vanish. Which gave me the awws over it of just shows how much Rin means so much to him.
But if you don’t understand the significant of what Sharaku did in that CG then your probity thinking “What the duck?”
I’m happy both issues with Rin & Sharaku were solve in Sharaku’s Route. Sharaku found his purpose of what he wants to do in life while Rin got the Validation from Sharaku to make her forgot about the guy that told her he didn’t want to marry a person like her.
The After story is really cute and funny, since Sharaku was jealous of Rin putting her time and energy on the Plants and not him. 🤣
A
After playing Goemon’s Route, if I have to be poetic about it. Then going threw Goemon’s Route was a sweet as Dango. 🍡
(Okay, as of writing this review I haven’t ate Dango. But is a must try for me someday because I always wanted to try Dango. Expecally the type of Dango Goemon loves that Rin makes. So instead of Dango, Goemon’s Route was as sweet as your favorite warm dessert.)
But in-between there where bitterness in his Route like how Rin got to where she was and Oshichi with Shonosuke.
I really love Goemon as an LI, his unconditional love for Rin is so beautiful. And it shock me that he wasn’t the one that told Rin that he wouldn’t want to marry a person like her but it was Rin herself. Between Rin and Goemon’s dynamic with each other kinda reminds me of Ash & Serena, Ichika & Charolette, and Goku and Chichi from Dragon Ball. (Not DBZ or the other sequels because Chichi has change since her kid self in DB.)
Threw out Goemon’s Route there was too many truths that you question what IS the actual truth. So did Rin “Yeet” herself after Goemon was “Ex”off or Did someone beat her up and choose to try and Yeet herself because she wasn’t worthy of a Woman for Goemon? And at the end it was all of the above and more.
The life lesson learn in Goemon’s route that was more towards Oshichi who is Rin’s Best friend and that is if theres a place where ever is an Amusement Park, Travel Destination, Concert, Theme Cafe, or any fun related event and you dream anout or planned on going to this place when you bring or invite your Crush, or Long Distance Lover, or a group of friends, or family member. Unless you guys keep in contact regularly, don’t wait for a free invite or when you bring that special someone.
Go when you have the Time and Money to go, because your relationship with that person that you haven’t communicated a lot with would change over time.
(I went on a full blown rant of how I felt not even
being an After Though when my Cousins didn’t invite me to go to the Trampoline Park. So I stop having any expectations of them inviting me to anything, I’ll do a double take if out of the blue they invited me to go out to have something simple like going out for Coffee or Boba Tea.)
I know going to an Event or Fun outing by yourself may sound daunting or boring. But is ether that or your going to miss out on an opportunity that you might not get again. Just save up Money and the person you hope to get an invite from ends up not inviting you because they weren’t planning to invite you or were just an after though to them, just go alone. Is not worth missing out the fun and the experience.
Kinnosuke
Kiku was the first route I play so I didn’t know what I was going into his route. But his Route if I could best describe it was a mix of Cute moments and Slice of life scenario. You won’t get to the steamy-ness of his route until mid-way to the end of his Happy end Route.
He is a very devoted Brother who deeply cares about Asami, Despite how much Kiku disappointed Azami, he still never gave up wanting to win back their relationship as Siblings, especially since all they have is each other and Rin.
And that gave me the Awws, because Kiku could of thrown in the towel and just accept he can’t do anymore to win Azami’s trust back and move on. But Kiku didn’t gave up, he kept fighting and I have to applaud to that.
The Bad Ending to Kiku’s Route to me was so funny then ethier Sad or kinda Romantic. Oh my Gosh, Azami’s facial expression! LOL! I can’t blame her!
On my thoughts with Azami’s end deserves it’s own
blog post.
B JacK
From playing JacK’s Route was very interesting and finding out his real name is Imai. But knowing more about him in his route he’s kinda a mixture of an Edgy Character but also Adorkable one at the same time. And base on how he acted in the beginning makes sense and threw out the Route the LIs except for JacK were acting like protective Brothers towards Rin then being hostile yet distant towards her.
Though Goemon fall more into a mixture of being a Protective Brother but really falling more of the Jealous LI trying not to expose/holding back his jealousy. Even towards the happy end Route he didn’t care what happens to JacK during his battle with Ichise and especially JacK’s battle with Sensei Nono.
Rin Enma Spotlight corner(Spoilery)
Knowing about Rin threw out playing Tengoku Struggles depending on the LI's Route she could come off ether being Quirky but Serious at the same time like having Fetishes over things that not a lot of people should be romantically turn on or being Serious, Mature and Well-manner. But in Goemon’s route she was pretty Love dense, which seeing that from a FMC is refreshing since normally you get Love dense characters from Male protagonist.
How Rin got to where she is was pretty sad, but to make a side note I play the Localization version of Tengoku Struggles and found out there was some mistranslation. So I’m going to go from my feelings from the mistranslation but base on the things Ren went through makes all the sense why she a Misandrist.
Maybe not a full blown Misandrist, she just have a huge disliking to the LIs because their Prisoners. And learning with most people who have a Hatred of a certain Race or Sex or Individual who came from different income inequality or A Set of Individuals you have to question where did it came from.
And yes, I know for most cases people won’t have a reason and is “Just because”. (Just like this one episode on Recess when T.J was trying to figure out why this one kid on the Playground hates him and the kid flat out told him he just doesn’t. No rhyme or reason he just don’t like him.)
But that’s not always the case, at most times is always link to something why a person negatively feels a sort of way towards an individual.
I grew up in a Melting Pot Community of different set of people from different Races, Sexuality Orientations, and Neurodiverse Individuals. And I feel grateful being around different type of people, even as crazy as this really sound that even my Teenager self would think I’m crazy but for admiring to this, but that even includes the ones who treated me badly in my adolescent years.
I was like Ren internally of how the set of people in my Tween and Teenager years I didn’t want nothing to do with those Type of people base off how they badly treated and Excluded me. But as I grew older an understand why they act how they acted, my strong despite of them grew to more Understanding that you could say is a form of forgiveness.
I think if I never had that experience I wouldn’t be the person that I love to this day. But I and especially my immediate Family have to help remind me that I can’t get caught up in the Could have, Would have, Should ofs.
Which is one of my Character flaws that I need to work on.
(And many others, but if I share more then this part of the corner I will be going way off topic. But no I’m not Miss perfect by any means but I’m also not a Flawful person ether.)
Over the entire Otome, Rin hatred towards the LIs grew from having a hatred toward them to having a deep care for them.
Overall
I recommend playing Tengoku Struggles if you like:
*Slice of life genre